Merry Christmas! :D

Merry Christmas to all who reads this! 😀

In Finland (and some other countries) Christmas is celebrated on December 24. So today we get gifts from Santa Claus, eat dinner and meet relatives and family. It’s also a tradition to go to the cemetery/grave yard, whatever you want to call it, and put candles on some graves.

My sister will come and get us in about 30 minutes, we will go to the grave yard first and then to her house to eat dinner and later in the day open the gifts that Santa left under the tree… Well, Santa left some here too, that we will take with us. 😉

Anyway, I have been knitting like a maniac… I really wanted to finish these socks:

img_1469

The yarn is called Joulu, which is Finnish for Christmas. 😀 I finished the socks at noon and now it is 1 pm. I am wearing them now and I am going to wear them all day! Many other days too of course. The yarn is only sold in December in a couple of stores in town.

For the first time, ever, I have finished the socks myself! 😀 It doesn’t look as good as when mum finishes the socks, but it’s okay.

The other thing I wanted to show here is the wreath (if you can call it that) that I have on the door to my bedroom:

img_1468

This is something I made last year (if it wasn’t 2014…) I don’t really remember when I did it. It’s a very long strand of crocheted chain stitches, wrapped and glued around a styrofoam ring. I also added a ribbon.

For the teddy bear I made a Santa hat and a scarf of fleece and cotton. I also made the little gift that he is holding in his hands. I think I glued the hands to the gift or attached it with a little stitch.

Well, better get myself ready. And I’ll cut a couple of herrings for the cat, so he can eat them while we are gone (pretty much the rest of the day).

 

Leave a Reply

