Continuing unfinished object

I am sure I’m not the only one who has UFOs in the drawer or closet. 🙂 Unfinished objects who just lay there for months…

Well, I decided to bring such an object to the knit and crochet café this evening. 🙂 Last week we didn’t have any lesson because it was sports holiday and the schools were closed. The week before that I decided not to go, because I didn’t know what to crochet. So I have not been there for a while.

The object that I brought with me is going to be a troll. 🙂 I don’t have a pattern, so I just crochet freehand, so to speak. For months the thing had a body and head (in one piece), a nose and one ear… A few days ago I made the second ear and two arms. Today I stuffed the arms and attached them to the body. I also crocheted a leg and started on the second leg. It needs a tail too and hair. Then I will try to crochet a dress.

The legs were difficult to figure out. I had to start all over again with the foot.

An other problem when you crochet without pattern is of course that you need to remember how you made an arm or a leg, because then you have to make the other one the same… I don’t write anything on paper, so I have to remember how many stitches per rounds there is or when I decreased some stitches.

I don’t want to write down the instructions, because I want it to be one of a kind. If people, when it’s done, want to crochet a troll too, they can look at my images of the troll, but I will not be able to say exactly how it was made. May be if I had started writing down the instructions from round one of the head, but I made that months ago. So it would be very difficult for me to count the stitches of the head and body.

It’s quite large, because I don’t want a small troll. I want a pretty large one. I don’t have an exact image of how I want the troll to be when it’s finished. Once I thought about making small green leaves with felt and attaching them to the hair. Because I have an image in my head of a troll with leaves and twigs in its messy hair. But we’ll see. May be I decide to leave out the twigs and leaves.

Well, I will finish the troll this time. May be this week, may be next week. I’ll post a picture of it whenever it is done. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Continuing unfinished object

  1. UFOs – Love it!! Do they really exist LOL in my house they are very very real!! I love the idea of a crochet/knit cafe – there is nothing like that around where I live. That would be wonderful!! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, there are lots of UFOs in the world… 🙂 But I will try to start finishing some in my house.

      May be announce on Facebook or social media and see if some people who live in your area would be willing to start a group! 🙂 You could meet at a café or at each others’ homes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

